VIP Update

Our friends at Valley Interfaith Project have released an alert regarding recent news about the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival (DACA) program. Please read their recent Rapid Response bulletin and let your leaders know how you feel about this program.

AR Meeting on Tuesday, August 15

We’re excited to be holding our first AR meeting of the school year on Tuesday, August 15 at 4:15 pm. We’ll be meeting at Serrano’s in downtown Chandler, and light appetizers will be served. Please use your Outlook calendar appointment to RSVP for the meeting. See you on Tuesday!

CEA Treasurer Election Underway Through August 14

Our election to fill our vacant CEA Treasurer position is now underway. The deadline to cast your ballot is Monday, August 14 at 5:00 pm. Visit our election page for full details.

Valley Interfaith Project Events Coming

Our friends and partners at Valley Interfaith Project (VIP) have some important events coming up … please consider attending if you are able!

Healthcare Civic Academy
Monday, July 31
6:30 pm
Shepherd of the Hills UCC (5524 E Lafayette Rd, Phoenix AZ)


  • Understanding proposed changes to the Affordable Care Act
  • Threats to Medicaid/AHCCCS in Arizona
  • Learn about Arizona’s Respite Care

Download the flyer for more information.

VIP 101: Introduction to Community Organizing
Tuesday, August 8
6:30 – 9:00 pm
Dayspring UMC (1365 E Elliot Rd, Tempe AZ)


Download the flyer for more information and RSVP to

Save Our Schools Happy Hour on August 1

There will be a Save Our Schools AZ Happy hour on Tuesday, August 1 at Serrano’s in downtown Chandler. This will be a great way to celebrate the hard work everyone’s done to circulate petitions! If you have any more petitions to hand in, we will have a notary on hand to notarize them … so be sure to bring those petitions along with a copy of your driver’s license!

Treasurer Nominations Now Open

Due to a resignation, CEA is now accepting nominations for Treasurer. If you would like to nominate a fellow member or nominate yourself, please complete the online nomination form by Tuesday, August 1.

AR Training on July 17

Thank you to all of our Association Representatives for serving as critical leaders in CEA! To help support our ARs, we are holding an AR training on Monday, July 17 from 10:00 am – 2:00 pm at the district office. This is the day before returning teachers report back to work, so it’s a good way to ease back into the work routine! Lunch will be served.